Log in

Francis M. Forster Research Award Reminder

09/19/2017 2:14 PM | Jamie Michael (Administrator)
Wisconsin Neurological Society - Francis M. Forster Research Award

The Wisconsin Neurological Society honors a long-standing tradition of recognizing resident research by holding an annual competition for the Francis M. Forster Research Award.

The award is named for Francis M. Forster, MD, one of the founders of the American Academy of Neurology. He was considered an internationally-recognized expert in the diagnosis and treatment of epilepsy and a prominent neurologist. Doctor Forster served as Chairman of the Departments of Neurology at Georgetown University and the University of Wisconsin-Madison, and proudly mentored and trained residents throughout his career.

Program Directors from the Neurology Residency Programs at the Medical College of Wisconsin and the University of Wisconsin-Madison each identify two residents with outstanding research abstracts to compete for the annual Award. In the selection process, priority is given to true research projects, although high quality and comprehensive case presentations may also be considered.

Residents who have been selected for the competition each submit their abstracts and are invited to present their research at the WNS Annual Meeting. After all presentations are complete, one winner is selected by a vote of all non-resident conference attendees and presented with the annual Francis M. Forster Research Award. 

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software